Lifestyle

What Am I Reading: January 2015

The last couple of years has been a bit of a “no-read” period for me and I’ve been itching to get back into snuggling up with a novel in hand. As a means of keeping myself on track, I will be keeping a public tab on what I’ve been reading right here on my blog, so feel free to leave suggestions for me. I am not promising to read a certain number of books in a week, month, or year but to be consistent with reading.

For this month:

You Are Here: Around the World in 92 Minutes by (Commander) Chris Hadfield

 Photo courtesy of Google Images

 If you were fascinated by Commander Hadfield’s tweets from outer space, this will be the perfect coffee table book for you (and companion for his first novel, An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth). This book is filled with images from around the world that exhibit the beauty and wonders of the very planet we live on. Photo quality is not bad, given that they were taken from outer space, but I didn’t find that to be an issue at all because the overall image is simply stunning.

A Nation Worth Ranting About by Rick Mercer

 Photo courtesy of CBC.ca

Mercer, a Canadian comedian and TV personality, has always been a favourite of mine when it came to political skits. You didn’t have to agree with his opinions to appreciate his passion for politics and his unique perspective on the various issues at hand. Currently I’m about one-fifth of the way through the book and it’s definitely interesting to see what goes on through his mind when he partakes in, say bungee jumping, with a national icon.

Taking the Lead: Lessons from a Life in Motion by Derek Hough

Photo courtesy of Amazon.com

As one of the most decorated Dancing with the Stars pro dancers, I am intrigued by Derek’s success. Becoming a champion in competitive ballroom dance and DWTS, this guy has to have some killer work ethic and determination. Finding success at a young age has its ups and downs, and I hope this book can bring forth some of that much needed inspiration.

I realize that the three books I’ve mentioned in this month’s read are all by celebrities and that we usually never associate good writing or story telling with said individuals, however, I think we just need to pick and choose the right ones for those hidden nuggets of wisdom.

If anyone else is in the same boat, join me in this little “resolution”!

Standard

Leave a Reply

