Fashion and Accessories

Fall-ourites

2015-10-24 12.52.01

Fall is now upon us and that means it’s time for me to layer on up on my favourite pieces and to stock up on my favourite drinks.

I’m a huge fan of simple dresses in neutral colours because they’re easy to work with year round, and no one can ever go wrong with a little black dress. Currently, I’m in the market for a black, long sleeved, knee length dress that’s flattering for a petite pear shape. This hunt has proven to be a bit of a challenge, as all the black dresses that I’ve come across are either too short or have no sleeves. This Topshop piece that I’ve found is the closest that I’ve come to finding a dress that meets my requirements and is fitting for my body. I can see myself pairing it with a blanket scarf and a simple coat to jazzing it up with some statement jewelry and heeled booties.

2015-10-24 12.53.39

And speaking of scarves, they are definitely one of my favourite fall/winter accessories to work with. You can call me obsessed; I have more than a couple on my wishlist as we speak. Scarves are incredibly versatile, acting as a scarf, shawl, or even blanket. I love thick knitted scarves on bone-chilling days and blanket scarves on days where the weather can be rather unpredictable – I’m looking at you, current weather situation.

This earthy herringbone-houndstooth piece works beautifully with dark solid colours to add a bit of life back into an outfit without grabbing too much attention. A subtle print is easy to match with solids and with other patterns, making my life easier as I find it difficult to pair prints with prints. I plan on pairing this piece with my all black ensembles, something in which I wear very often.

2015-10-24 12.54.19

And for my fellow dry skinned friends, finding a moisturizing, yet non-sticky body lotion can be difficult, as well as a soap that doesn’t leave you feeling like a dried prune. I received the two Lush products (shown above) as a gift from where I volunteer and I’m excited to see if these products deliver.

2015-10-24 12.55.09

Fall is not complete without a hot drink of choice and some comfort food. I’ve always been a fan of black teas, particularly earl grey tea, and I finally decided to give David’s Tea a try. This little box of 12 satchets was $10, so it’s not exactly your cheapest option for tea, but I believe that it’s good to give different things a try every now and then. And of course when I got to the till I simply could not resist the tea infused chocolate bar they had.

Those are my favourites for fall, let me know what yours are in the comments below!

Standard

Leave a Reply

